top of page

Jane Wilson

"One of the most beautiful qualities of true friendship is to understand and to be understood." Lucius Annaeus Seneca My friends have been painted directly onto a restored French map of Africa dated 1865. I have the original in my collection, it is badly damaged and very fragile so I scanned and digitally repaired it and have used this as the painting ground. The map has been printed on archival 300gm cotton paper, mounted on board and sealed and protected with acrylic medium and gesso. I then created my artwork using acrylic inks and paints being careful to allow the map to shine through as it is an integral part of the painting".

I have included this artist because of the emphasis she places on paper selection, like myself we both use very tactical and fragile papers. The reasoning is to show the fragile nature of our subject matter but also to help show the delicate state the animals are in.


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page