top of page

Creating my own wax crayons

For adding text to my images I have been using a store bought white wax crayons. I have decided to experiment creating my own crayons from old pure bees wax candles I have around the house. I will then use these to add text to my images. The reason for exploring this process is to allow for my work to have as many connections to the bees and their hives as possible. I would also like my work to explore my own values I which I am a keen recycler and upcycler. I also think this process will allow my images to have a more unique quality to them, as I am unsure of how the light will pass through my homemade crayons also it translates well into the my previous projects in which I have allowed bees to interact with my work allowing a footprint of interactions between the makers ( myself and the bees).

My technique for creation;

Supplies:

  • Bees wax or bees wax candles

  • Flexible moulds/ice cube trays

  • Sharp knife

  • Cookie sheet

Directions:

Step 1

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees F

Step 2

Break the candles or wax into pieces. Smaller bits will melt more quickly in the oven and will therefore have less time to run and bleed into neighbouring colours. Use a kitchen knife to cut pieces down to about 1/2 inch.

Step 3

Fill moulds with wax pieces. I wanted my crayons to have natural colouring so I didn’t add anything to enhance the colour. Make sure to just slightly overfill each mould, as the crayons will melt down and take up less space.

Step 4

Place the moulds on a cookie sheet and bake them in the oven for 10 to 15 minutes or until the wax is completely melted.

Step 5

Very carefully, so as to not spill any wax, remove the cookie sheet from the oven.

Step 6

As the crayons cool, they will harden. To speed up the process, transfer the moulds into the freezer after the crayons firm up.

Step 7

After about 30 minutes, remove the moulds from the freezer. If the bottoms of the mould are cool, you can release the crayons from the mould by first gently pulling and stretching the moulds to loosen up the crayons and then pushing each crayon up and out from the bottom. If the moulds are still warm to the touch, return them to the freezer and check again in 10 minutes.

The crayons.


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page